‘Hobża biż-Żejt’

In translating Hobża biż-Żejt (Maltese) word for word to English, this becomes ‘bread with oil’. Bread is loved by us Maltese and it is something we eat on a daily basis. Some crunchy Maltese bread, some olive oil on a plate to dip bread into, some salt and pepper to top it off, and we are happy 🙂 Just yesterday I prepared this lovely ftira (a type of bread that is round in shape with a crunchy crust and sesame seeds on top – this comes in different sizes and normally has a small hole in the middle) to take with me near the beach.

photo (27)

First, I spread some tomatoe paste on the Maltese ftira, brushed both sides with some Extra Virgin Olive Oil, and added some salt and pepper. Then I emptied a large can of tuna on the base of the ftira.

photo 1 (13)

I topped the tuna with sliced green olives, some capers, and sundried tomatoes – taste great together!

photo 2 (9)

I finished this off with what all Maltese know as ġbejna tal-bżar, which translates to peppered cheeselet.

photo 3 (9)

Finally, you can add a touch of vinegar glaze 🙂

photo 4 (5)

And this is how our Maltese ftira looks … Trust my word, it will not disappoint – fresh, healthy, and good!

photo 5 (3)

I hope you are a tuna lover so that you can find this first post about food to your liking 🙂

signature


Leave a comment